Citizenship and belonging: an unsuccessful visual idea

When experimenting with ideas of how to present my research visually I had the idea of presenting my interviews on a cube. I conducted an interview with six main questions and put a response on each side. The inspiration behind this visual experiment is that we are all multi-faceted, as is a cube. I only had a single research participant at this point. However, my idea was that were I to get more participants I could produce one cube representing each person and put their responses to the six questions on each side. Alternatively, I thought about each cube representing the answer to a single question. Therefore if I had six participants, each side of the cube would show one of their answers. The end result would have been a tactile installation, whereby the gallery visitors could pick up and move the cubes around. As a result of this permitted meddling, each person would see a slightly different arrangement of responses. Anyway, after a lot of emails and cajoling, I only got two research participants and the idea was put on the shelf.

Below are the answers to my six questions.

1.

1.

2.

2.

Tagines and tiramisu: Multicultural citizenship and food

3.

4.

4.

5.

5.

6.

6.

Leave a Reply

