Where do you live on Street View?

I’ve been fascinated by Google Street View for awhile. The idea of a robotic camera automatically taking photos without the *intervention of the mind or the discretionary human gaze. Democratic photographic ‘truth’.

With this in mind I asked some people from different parts of the world to send me a Street View photo of their road.

There wasn’t any particular sociological reason behind my request; just curiosity, which is a good enough reason.

* The only human intervention in the process is the driver of the Street View car, who uses pre-planned routes at a set speed.

Cluj - Napoca, Romania

It’s a small street, always crowded and always full of students. Cluj – Napoca, Romania

Bucharest, Romania

I am actually living at the junction of 2 big boulevards. The building in the image is a high-school that was founded in 1926 and is just across from my block of flats. Bucharest, Romania

First of all this place is not my neighborhood. I intended to show you my neighborhood but Google street view doesn’t apply my area so I decide to show here. This is called HongDae. It’s summarization of Hong-ik University. This is a place that I used to go. I went there when I want to meet my friends.  I don’t know any other country’s situations. But in Korea usually there are big businesses around University. Especially there are so many University around HongDae. Therefore they has so many businesses with diversity. Even though, many people who doesn’t study at HongDae, come here to hang out . So here is always crowded. This picture was taken in 2009 so it’s little bit different from now. If you visit now you can see more beautiful scene. South Korea

First of all this place is not my neighborhood. I intended to show you my neighborhood but Google street view doesn’t apply to my area so I decided to show this. This is called HongDae. It’s summarization of Hong-ik University. This is a place that I used to go to. I went there when I wanted to meet my friends. I don’t know any other country’s situations, but in Korea usually there are big businesses around university. There are so many universities around HongDae. Therefore they have so many businesses with diversity. Many people who doesn’t study at HongDae come here to hang out . So it is always crowded. This picture was taken in 2009 so it’s little bit different now. If you visit now you can see a more beautiful scene. South Korea

Hong Kong, China

A couple of pics from my street in HK. Besides minibuses, it looks too calm! Hong Kong, China

This is the first time for me to explain the direction to my house in details starting from the BTS sky train Sapan Khwai station. My house on Suthisan Road, Phaya Thai , Bangkok, Thailand isn’t far from Sapan Khwai station about 15 minutes by car because traffic jam on the main street always is long.  This direction is not long way to walk just 8 minutes. You can go along the street. Bangkok, Thailand

This is the first time for me to explain the direction to my house in details starting from the BTS sky train Sapan Khwai station.
My house is on Suthisan Road, Phaya Thai , Bangkok, Thailand and isn’t far from Sapan Khwai station about 15 minutes by car because traffic jam on the main street is always long. This direction is not long way to walk just 8 minutes. You can go along the street. Bangkok, Thailand

This is a rural road. On the side is a vast field, a small canal and lots of trees because people in the village are farmers. At night, the road is quite dark because some part of road don't have light. This area is very quiet because people usually go to bed early.  Nakhonsawan, Thailand

This is a rural road. On the side is a vast field, a small canal and lots of trees because people in the village are farmers. At night, the road is quite dark because some part of road don’t have light. This area is very quiet because people usually go to bed early. Nakhonsawan, Thailand

A view from a typical Lorraine village in France... I send you a view from both sides of my house, as you can see, the road is large, very quiet and the village goes along that road in a straight line!  Lorraine, France

A view from a typical Lorraine village in France… I send you a view from both sides of my house, as you can see, the road is large, very quiet and the village goes along that road in a straight line! Lorraine, France

This is a bakery near my neighborhood that I used to go to buy bread when I was a child. It’s a two-story house, the ground floor is a bakery and the first floor is  where the baker lives. It looks like a kind of brick house but is concrete. The red roof and good smell of bread are a mark of this bakery. It reminds me of my childhood. Yokohama, Japan

This is a bakery near my neighborhood that I used to go to buy bread when I was a child. It’s a two-story house, the ground floor is a bakery and the first floor is where the baker lives. It looks like a kind of brick house but is concrete. The red roof and good smell of bread are a mark of this bakery. It reminds me of my childhood.
Yokohama, Japan

The atmosphere is very English-english (in my stereotype:) ) but a quite good condition to live, though. London, England

The atmosphere is very English-English (in my stereotype:) ) but a quite good condition to live, though. London, England

This is Beykoz. I live here. It has a coast so I'm pleased of it .Basically I'm more lucky than most people. Its new, modern and made of wood. There is a garden that has lots of trees and vegetables growing. We overlook the sea from the garden and a few rooms. Lots of houses are detached on our street. We can see and talk to our neighbors when we spend time in the garden. I mean we could keep in touch with our neighbors so I'm really lucky to live in Beykoz.  Beykoz, Istanbul.

This is Beykoz. I live here. It has a coast so I’m pleased of it. Basically I’m more lucky than most people. Its new, modern and made of wood. There is a garden that has lots of trees and vegetables growing. We overlook the sea from the garden and a few rooms. Lots of houses are detached on our street. We can see and talk to our neighbors when we spend time in the garden. I mean we could keep in touch with our neighbors so I’m really lucky to live in Beykoz. Beykoz, Istanbul. – No Google image available

Thanks to everyone who contributed.

Leave a Reply

