A Slice of London – Below Ground (Film)

I made ‘A Slice of London – Below Ground’ as the film component to my investigation into my research question on social mobility: How can a physical space be socially mobile? In other words, if a seat is occupied by people from different socio – demographic and socio – economic groups, does it become socially mobile?
I filmed the entire length of the line, from Stanmore to Stratford, in one shot, resulting in a film of just under an hour. The idea of using one shot was inspired by Cinéma Vérité and specifically Chronique d’un été (Chronicle of a Summer) by Jean Rouch. However, the film is more Observational Documentary, as although I intervened in the space – I used a large tripod and camera, so it was obvious that I was filming – I didn’t direct anyone, speak to anyone, nor did anyone speak to me, which really surprised me.

Please click on ‘A Slice of London – Below Ground’ (above) to view the film.

Leave a Reply

