Are you enjoying the World Cup?

I asked a few friends, and some of my students, if they were enjoying the World Cup, just as a way to gage people’s interest in this mega sporting event. Not exactly a scientific survey, but anyway their thoughts and photos are below.

To be honest, I am quite a football fan and under normal circumstances I would have enjoyed the matches, but this year, because of Italy's painful performance, I have a very distant stance! That being said, I do enjoy the calm and the silence in the office when France plays (oops, yesterday it was the last time… Paris, France

To be honest, I am quite a football fan and under normal circumstances I would have enjoyed the matches, but this year, because of Italy’s painful performance, I have a very distant stance! That being said, I do enjoy the calm and the silence in the office when France plays (oops, yesterday it was the last time…
Paris, France

I'm enjoying the World Cup. I'm not too much passionate about it, but I have enjoyed several matches. Bogota, Colombia

I’m enjoying the World Cup. I’m not too much passionate about it, but I have enjoyed several matches.
Bogota, Colombia

Street celebrations in Colombia's capital. Bogota, Colombia

Street celebrations in Colombia’s capital. Bogota, Colombia

No matter what happened today, we are so proud and happy. These were our celebrations after and before each match. Bogota, Colombia

No matter what happened today, we are so proud and happy. These were our celebrations after and before each match.
Bogota, Colombia

This is a shot of what I find very representative of what we have here. A temporary patriotism that lasts a World Cup campaign. Flags are ubiquitous on cars. Campinas, Brazil

This is a shot of what I find very representative of what we have here. A temporary patriotism that lasts a World Cup campaign. Flags are ubiquitous on cars.
Campinas, Brazil

Some of my students, who are learning English in London, also added to the post.

Yes,I am enjoying. My favourite team is Brazil. I think Brazil is the best team in the World Cup 2014. I hope Brazil will win the World Cup. Istanbul, Turkey

Yes,I am enjoying.
My favourite team is Brazil.
I think Brazil is the best team in the World Cup 2014.
I hope Brazil will win the World Cup.
Istanbul, Turkey

I like World Cup. But now I can't watch television. Because I don't have TV now. Besides I want to see more places in London. So, I'm watching World Cup by internet news as I travel in London. Jeju, South Korea

I like World Cup. But now I can’t watch television.
Because I don’t have TV now. Besides I want to see more places in London.
So, I’m watching World Cup by internet news as I travel in London.
Jeju, South Korea

Colombia's team returned to its country and more than millions of Colombian's and people around the world clapped its participation in the World Cup, Brazil 2014, because this team showed new stars and the oldest player too making history, spectacular goals, and a passion that influenced our rivals. This team played with their heart.  Colombians and all people in general enjoyed Brazil 2014 watching this team. I can say that we made history. Because, forever are you going to remember the team who danced and inspired our hearts.  !Thanks you Colombia!   Bogota, Colombia

Colombia’s team returned to its country and more than millions of Colombian’s and people around the world clapped its participation in the World Cup, Brazil 2014, because this team showed new stars and the oldest player too making history, spectacular goals, and a passion that influenced our rivals. This team played with their heart. 
Colombians and all people in general enjoyed Brazil 2014 watching this team. I can say that we made history. Because, forever are you going to remember the team who danced and inspired our hearts. 
!Thanks you Colombia!  
Bogota, Colombia

I wasn't watching football because I was taking photos in London, because I don't fan football, because I prefer ice hockey and Czech team isn't in World Cup because Czech team hadn't qualification to World Cup.   Prague, Czech Republic

I wasn’t watching football because I was taking photos in London, because I don’t fan football, because I prefer ice hockey and Czech team isn’t in World Cup because Czech team hadn’t qualification to World Cup.  
Prague, Czech Republic

I do not like watching the World Cup, but I like to sit by myself and listening to Arabic songs and coffee near the sea or quiet places and I remember all the beautiful things of this life. Mecca, Saudi Arabia

I do not like watching the World Cup, but I like to sit by myself and listening to Arabic songs and coffee near the sea or quiet places and I remember all the beautiful things of this life.
Mecca, Saudi Arabia

Yes I enjoyed the world cup because I think it's excited for me and I cheer up with my friend very funny. But my room don't have television. I watching world cup by internet. Bangkok, Thailand

Yes I enjoyed the world cup because I think it’s excited for me and I cheer up with my friend very funny. But my room don’t have television. I watching world cup by internet.
Bangkok, Thailand

 

Thank you to everyone who contributed to this post!

 

Leave a Reply

