Who lives next door? (Part 2)

Last December I posted responses to my question, ‘Who lives next door?’, a not particularly academic look at the relative anonymity of urban living, at least in large western/western influenced cities. Still fascinated by this subject I asked the question again, and people in seven different countries on three different continents responded.

This is my apartment`s door bell. Actually, it's really difficult to meet my next door neighbours. I think one of the busiest people in the world are Korean. Suwon, South Korea

This is my apartment`s door bell. Actually, it’s really difficult to meet my next door neighbours.
I think one of the busiest people in the world are Koreans.
Suwon, South Korea

It's a big shame I don't know their names even though we've been neighbours for about 20 years. It'd sound a bit unfriendly, my family just call them Mr Next Door and Mrs Next Door… I guess they might call us that too. Seoul, South Korea

It’s a big shame I don’t know their names even though we’ve been neighbours for about 20 years. It sounds a bit unfriendly, my family just call them Mr Next Door and Mrs Next Door… I guess they might call us that too.
Seoul, South Korea

The main gate door bell of this flat. Each household has got its own password or a card. Seoul, South Korea

The main gate door bell of this flat. Each household has got its own password or a card.
Seoul, South Korea

I live in a relatively small building: interesting in that almost half of the people living there, share their life and family environment with their job: the flat is at least partially used as their office space.  I see two separate although somehow overlapped lives mixed up.  Paris, France.

I live in a relatively small building: interesting in that almost half of the people living there, share their life and family environment with their job: the flat is at least partially used as their office space.
I see two separate although somehow overlapped lives mixed up.
Paris, France.

My neighbor's name is Kitahata. I have no idea who they are, because I have never met them. Sendai, Japan

My neighbor’s name is Kitahata. I have no idea who they are, because I have never met them.
Sendai, Japan

My neighbours are just numbers. Buenos Aires, Argentina

My neighbours are just numbers.
Buenos Aires, Argentina

These are my neighbour's doorbells. The left one belongs to a family of four and one little dog, and the right one belongs to grandparents. All of them are very kind, generous and good neighbours. Bogotá, Colombia

These are my neighbour’s doorbells. The left one belongs to a family of four and one little dog, and the right one belongs to grandparents. All of them are very kind, generous and good neighbours.
Bogotá, Colombia

Francoise and Rob no longer live in our building I don't think. Or maybe they do but we never see them! They are an older gay couple. Gentlemen through and through, with a taste for the finer things in life. They are passionately in love after 30 years of being together and always hoped for a family of their own, but time seemed to happen and the opportunity passed them by.  Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Francoise and Rob no longer live in our building I don’t think. Or maybe they do but we never see them! They are an older gay couple. Gentlemen through and through, with a taste for the finer things in life. They are passionately in love after 30 years of being together and always hoped for a family of their own, but time seemed to happen and the opportunity passed them by.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

 

Copyright belongs to the photographers represented in this post.

 

Leave a Reply

