How do you get to work?

I drive to work every day, and I don’t find it particularly interesting. The traffic is so intense, but I won’t complain as I am traffic too. Public transport in Cuiabá is pretty poor and unreliable. I drive for the convenience, comfort and to be on time. Cycling in Cuiabá is not recommended. Cyclists are ignored by drivers and unfortunately the journey will put your life at risk.
The picture shows a normal drive back home after a working day. The truck in front of me was too old to be on the road (I think), the driver was reckless and you can tell how in Brazil people still get away with things such as having their registration number painted (badly) on the body of a truck – and believe that’s the right thing to do.
Cuiabá, Mato Grosso, Brazil

On my way to work, I drive along this beautiful road, but actually it’s the worst part of my day with all the traffic that comes after.
Burgas, Bulgaria

My work is only a fifteen – minute walk away from my house. Most of the walk is through the park, what a great way to wake up!
Brussels, Belgium

This road is called “Tapetão” (big rug), connecting the centre of Campinas to Barão Geraldo, the district where the main universities of the city are based.
It takes about 5 minutes to go from one point to another, time enough to listen to one of my favourite tunes at the highest volume while appreciating the beautiful landscape that surrounds me.
Campinas, Brazil

I usually work at home. But when I need to travel around, the most common means of transport is the train. Every day thousands of people travel between Amadora and Lisbon by train. There are about 15 minutes when we can read the newspapers, without worrying about anything else. Sometimes a lot of passengers, strikes and delays are a major hurdle! But still, I prefer to travel by train than having to drive to Lisbon!
Amadora, Portugal

I take that tube 3 times a week, from Congreso to Catedral, and I get off at 9 de Julio, right by the Obelisco. Nice place but really busy! Pickets almost every day! Regarding security: I admit I’m a bit paranoid, but better safe than sorry. That’s why I took the photo in such a rush and I was trying to look natural! Haha I think nobody noticed!
The rest of the week I work nearby so I take the bus, no tube in the province!
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Every morning I take the metro, line 9, to Auber and then the RER A, a sort of faster metro connecting Paris to, among other stops, the financial district of La Défense. Just to be clear, the RER is a pain in the @xx, always packed and often late, it is my (daily) hard landing….
Paris, France

Fifteen steps of separation between my bedroom and my office. I work at home so I just need to walk downstairs to arrive.
Bogotá, Colombia

Enjoying this nice weather while looking for a new job.
Canton de Vaud, Switzerland

Thanks for the photos everyone. A really imaginative response!

The new question: What do you do for a living?

If you’re interested in contributing to the next blog post please send a photo from your camera phone and a few words to wraphael@mac.com by July 30th.

Many thanks

 

2 thoughts on “How do you get to work?

    1. Hi Kelly,

      Thanks for your comment. I’m having quite a lot of fun organising this blog. The next post should be up mid month, please take a look!

      Best wishes,

      Raphael

Leave a Reply

